Welcome to the The LAN Network Forum.
  • Login:
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Ask Forefront!!

  1. #1
    LANce Armstrong
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    770

    Ask Forefront!!

    Okay guys, so let's do this right eh? I am a former U.S. Marine, Aviation Logistics Tactical Information Management Specialist. Which is a fancy way of saying I have a lot of computer knowledge. Also, I have attended several courses on broadcasting, directing, and videography. I have a lot of knowledge on how to wire, repair, and troubleshoot broadcasting and recording setups.

    With that said, this thread will be a question and answer thread for me. Since I not only know about broadcasting, but how to stream on JTV, I figure I can offer many of you some good advice. So, ask me anything about streaming, capping, etc. If something doesn't work, if you need help with software or hardware, if you can't figure out what settings to use, if your capture card isn't working, if you can't get your montage to render properly (I know a lot about rendering and video formats, not editing), or whatever.

    I will try to keep my answers in layman's terms, but if I say something you don't understand I will happily explain. Also, if you want a technical explanation, just ask.

    Link to Forefront's Guide to Streaming
    Last edited by forefront; 06-27-2011 at 03:38 PM.

  2. #2
    LANdalf The Grey
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,711

    Ask Eli!!!! haha, JTV Master
    Check out GamingJerseys.com
    Done playing Halo Reach competitively, but will remain on this website! Hit me up on xbox live! My gamertag is "vs Tension"! Feel free to add me and we'll play some CLASSIC Playlist

  3. #3
    LAN Helsing
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    In your Soul
    Posts
    539

    Original
    Very glad your doing this Forefront! and must say am impress with your background and all you've accomplish very polished.

    Well my question is about rendering on Sony Vegas Pro. I have had the program for sooo long, but must say hardly get to do anything with it. I have always had trouble with the rendering settings. What are your thoughts or settings you would use for a nice HD style video that could be uploaded onto Youtube.

    For example on:

    Mode- would you use CBR? or Quality VBR
    Format- Windows 9 ?
    Image size- ?
    Frame rate- 29.970 (NTSC) ? or PAL?
    Pixel Aspect Ratio ?
    Seconds per key frame?

    Thanks Forefront! Nice way to help out this community.
    UNSC Waterboy
    “Empty your mind, be formless, shapeless - like water. Now you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle, you put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.”-- Bruce Lee

  4. #4
    LANce Armstrong
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    770

    Well, I personally don't know much about the editing programs themselves, but I can tell you that:

    1. VBR is good for any HD quality videos that you're going to render. Youtube shouldn't have a problem with it. It will take longer to render, but the video will look better. Also note that VBR is going to make your file size almost twice as large, so if you are reaching the youtube limit, you may want to go with CBR.

    2. I render in .avi, but that's only because I like the compatibility it has nowadays, and I don't post to youtube. The Windows 9 or .wma format is about the same. If you are looking for a format that is good for uploading, I suggest .mp4 as the file size will be much smaller, and you don't have to compress it and lose quality. Windows Media Video, or .wmv works well too, and is preferable at 1080p imo.

    3. Image size is your preference. 1280 x 720 is 720p, and 1920 x 1080 is 1080p.

    4. PAL is a European standard. Go with NTSC. I don't know if it matters for youtube, but if you try to play PAL on most video players, it'll error out.

    5. PAR shouldn't matter. If there is a default, just leave it. Most if not all HD renders should be done with square pixels anyway.

    6. I'm not sure about seconds per keyframe. If I had to guess, I'd say it's an editing term. Keyframes are points at which events take place in a video. So, I'm assuming that will be the base length of keyframes during editing? I'm not too sure, but I think you can adjust the keyframe length for each event that you edit anyway so I don't know if it really matters.

  5. #5
    LANimal
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    221

    Fantasy Camper
    I can answer the keyframe thing. Compression works by taking one good, fully described frame (keyframe)of data and building on it. Any data after that is just changes to the last keyframe. If you have ever had a video file go blocky in part of the image you are seeing a keyframe missed or glitched and only the changes being applied to a previous frame so it looks awful. If the keyframe got through it would look perfect.

    So the more keyframes you have the bigger your file gets because they are essentially uncompressed. Few keyframes / sec are good for scenes with a still camera like a news broadcast or talk show. The scene raraely changes and you can get away with fewer keyframes. Scenes with lots of action / camera moves / full screen transitions need more keyframes per sec.

    None of this tells you what to set it at though because it is media specific. I suggest you take a short segment of your video and test different settings with it. When you find good quality vs file size stick with it.

    2 out of 3 Pros agree the worst Joe to ever attend Pros vs Joes.
    On most weeknights after 10:30 EST looking to play MLG and Arena.
    Halo 2 Dr. Phil & Mr. Rogers recordings : http://www.soundspoof.com/index.php?cat=thebest

  6. #6
    LANimal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Albany, New York
    Posts
    270

    Astro Gaming
    I had this same question on how to use Vegas to make my videos look better. I only have a DVC 100 and my videos used to look like now they look like this . I have a video that I downloaded from you tube that explains all the settings i did, basically he explains everything step by step. I can provide the video if anyone that doesn't know how to use vegas wants it.
    Last edited by ZeroCool; 06-10-2011 at 01:32 PM.

    GamerTag: TLN ZeroCool
    Twitter
    YouTube

  7. #7
    LANce Armstrong
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    760

    how much money do i need to start a stream on jtv?
    GT: Toolbox Lags
    F/A

  8. #8
    LANce Armstrong
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    770

    @ZeroCool

    I think what you're seeing is just Reach's framerate issues. Bungie put a lot of work into making Halo look as good as COD, but they still did it wrong. I know that TLN's quality dropped with Reach, and I know that they are using the same settings as well. I'm not too familiar with Dazzle software, but you should be able to fiddle with the settings a little.

    Is the DVC 100 and SD or HD cap card, and how do you have it hooked up?

    @Brad

    Thanks man for the input. Brad is an actual entertainment industry professional. Listen to him!!

    @Toolboxxx

    SD you can get away with around $100. That's without your voice, and using a Dazzle. If you're thrifty (use ebay or other methods of buying cheap), you can run an HD stream for around $100-$120. Look up the AverTV HD PVR. I've heard good and bad things about it, so if you get it you are testing it yourself. I've never actually used it. Also, AverMedia is coming out with a product to rival the BMI (just FYI :P). If you go all out, streaming could cost you around $400-$500. So, just do your research, and bring me any specific questions you have about hardware specs or whatever.
    Last edited by forefront; 06-10-2011 at 04:01 PM.

  9. #9
    Crawler
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    83

    hey forefront, I was wondering the upload speed needed to stream in HD on JTV? Im in the process of getting a streaming setup and wanted to know if my internet could handle what I was planning. Thanks in advance!

  10. #10
    LAN Fan
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    160

    Quote Originally Posted by PK Toolboxxx View Post
    how much money do i need to start a stream on jtv?
    Get Hauppage HD PVR wonderful quality (i have it) but it costs a lot. lol

    Keep it 100 '11 GB/Orlando
    Clipzyy-Ray Done Dirty-HeLuSiK-Skeiith
    TO4 MESSAGE TO SCRIM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •